12 May 2024: Double Celebration for the Alderney Sailing Club:    


Double Celebration for the Alderney Sailing Club: 60th Anniversary and Re-Opening of newly refurbished clubhouse

Over 100 members attended the celebration party on Sunday 12 May, which marked the 60th anniversary of the Alderney Sailing Club as well as the official opening of the newly refurbished clubhouse. Plenty of sunshine, delicious Indian nibbles dished up by Nellie Grays and live music with Ben and Sophie created a very happy atmosphere and smiles all round.

The highlight of this event, in the presence of 8 former Commodores, was the cutting of the ribbon by the present Commodore Nigel Vooght.



Commodores line-up left to right: former Commodores Mick McCormick, Martin Smith, Peter Palmer, Boyd Kelly, Stuart Trought, Neil Harvey, Tess Woodnutt, Hugh Harrison and present Commodore Nigel Vooght, and in a separate photograph former Commodore John Russell

… and looking back 60 years:


Although founded in 1964, the construction of the clubhouse only started in 1967 and until then, committee meetings were held at “The Cellar” in Braye Street.

But, with the help of several club members who were actively involved in the actual building work –  in particular George Baron, Bill Birmingham, Mike Harrison and Ken Harvey – the construction of the clubhouse was completed in 1968 and officially opened by Viscount Alderney.

George Baron was Commodore from 1964 to 1974 and was known to run a tight ship and was firm but fair – a quality which no doubt gave him the tools to make an important contribution to the club and its continued growth.

The clubhouse was further extended in 1989.  In 2014 its most prominent feature, a fo’c’sle-shaped sail deck overlooking Braye Harbour, was created by committee member Ronnie Cairnduff.

Note: photographs of the renovation process as well as photos of building the clubhouse back in 1967 can be downloaded from our Flickr site. Here is the link: https://www.flickr.com/photos/alderneysailingclub/albums/72177720316209791

… and now:

This year, the clubhouse has undergone a 3-months programme of major refurbishment, refitting and modernization to upgrade all essential facilities and to comply with the latest health & safety regulations. And, today, 12 May 2024, the clubhouse opens its doors again to welcome members, visiting yachtsmen and guests.

The Alderney Sailing Club has grown from strength to strength with over 420 members – across the Channel Islands, the UK, the Continent, Australia, New Zealand and the USA.

The club is a focal point for visiting yachtsmen, motor boaters and their crews and has an active junior section. We cater for different sailing interests, ranging from dinghy sailing to blue water cruising.

With a fleet of Lasers, Mirrors and Picos – mostly owned by the club – junior members are especially welcome and RYA instructors run courses during the summer.

The clubhouse is a popular first port of call where all visiting crews are guaranteed a warm reception.  Throughout the year the club hosts and organises a series of rallies and races, the highlight being the annual Alderney Regatta, now in its 6th year. It is also renowned for its social events, from afternoon teas and club suppers to the annual Laying-Up Supper.

Since its foundation, 19 Commodores have been at the helm of the Alderney Sailing Club (see list page 2)

The current Commodore is Nigel Vooght, who has a passion for sailing. Nigel has been sailing since the age of 10, having competed around the world in many international regattas in Fireballs and 505s amongst many others. And, whilst at the helm of the Alderney Sailing Club, his objectives are to continue to promote sailing and in particular dinghy racing as well as refurbishing the clubhouse.

Commenting on the new clubhouse, he said “The members knew the club needed to be refurbished, although they wanted the club to retain its unique feel and look”.

“The feedback we have received suggests we have achieved that objective with very positive comments from all the members.

 I would wish to send my thanks to all of those who have helped the list is far too long to name individuals. One person needs a special call- out:  Ronnie Cairnduff who has led the project from the start and has been hands-on every day. “

Note: photographs of the celebration party Sunday 12th May 2024 can be viewed, downloaded and shared.

Here is the link: https://www.flickr.com/photos/alderneysailingclub/albums/72177720316898696/



1964-1974       G.W. Baron

1974-1978       M.C. Harrison

1978-1981       M.I.C. Harvey

1981-1984       M.C. Harrison

1984-1987       M.J.M. McCormick

1987-1990       A.D. Willis

1990-1992       J.C. Wallin

1992-1994       J.D. Cadoret

1994-1997       J.A.P. Russell

1999-2002       J.P.J. Palmer

2002-2003       S. Moss

2003-2006       J.R. Cobbold

2006-2009       B. Kelly

2009-2012       W.S. Trought

2012-2015       R.N. Harvey

2015-2016       C.E. Walker

2017-2020       T. Woodnutt

2020-2023       H. Harrison

2023-               N. Vooght