Guests of Honour are blown in for Laying Up Supper  

Heavy storms did not deter the guests of honour – Commodores of several Guernsey and Jersey Yacht Clubs –  to fly to Alderney for this popular annual sailing club event which took place in the Sailing Club on Saturday night 2 November.

For this special occasion the boathouse was transformed into a bar for a pre-dinner drinks reception and was followed by a delicious 3-course dinner created and served in the clubhouse by Alderney chef Matthew Watt,

After the traditional toasts and a special poem written and recited by Alderney Sailing Club Commodore Tess Woodnutt, several trophies and awards were presented to winners of the Round the Island Race and the Alderney Regatta 2019:

The highest number of trophies was claimed by Alderney Sailing Club Commodore Tess Woodnutt: These included the Aurigny Bowl : Alderney Sailing Club’s Overall Points Winner  for Polar Star’s skipper Tess Woodnutt and crew.

Tess was also awarded the First and Last Trophy for the Round Alderney Race on handicap and, as the Overall Winner of the Combined Round Alderney Race Tess also received the Jim Wallin Trophy.

The Round Alderney Award for the first local boat home went to Lady Larus and was presented to skipper Keith Turner.

In the Dinghies category the Frank Cherry Tankard for the Highest Laser Points went to Victoria McAllister.

The Jubilee Trophy for Enterprise in Offshore Cruising by an Alderney Sailing Club member was presented to Stuart and Jane Trought and Ros Whittome received the Silver Jubilee Award for Meritorious Activity by an Alderney Sailing Club Member.

Channel Islands’ Commodores are gathering:

Left to right:  David de Carteret (St Helier YC), David Raines (RCIYC Guernsey), John Falla (Guernsey YC), Tess Woodnutt (ASC), Kevin Newman (RCIYC Jersey), David Jones (St Catherine’s YC, Jersey)


To view the photos of the Laying Up Supper 2019, click here