All Change at the Alderney Sailing Club With New Commodore at the Helm

After completing his 3-year term as Commodore of the Alderney Sailing Club, Hugh Harrison (right) handed the keys to Nigel Vooght (left) , who was elected at the club’s AGM on Thursday 23rd February, as Commodore, again for a term of 3 years.

Nigel Vooght has been a member of the club for over 20 years and, as Vice Commodore during the past three years, was actively involved in organising and promoting the annual Alderney Regatta .

A keen and highly experienced sailor (Nigel has been sailing since the age of 10), he has sailed competitively at international level in Fireballs and 505s, finishing in the top five in both classes in World championships.

Nigel has sailed 18-foot skiffs, melges and many other classes and currently owns a Merry Fisher 1095 and a Beneteau Oceanis 40.1.

While at the helm of the club, his ambition is to build on the success of the Alderney Regatta,  to set up and develop the club’s motorboat section and to introduce regular motorboat rallies to nearby ports. Nigel also wants to encourage and support the island’s young generation by making it easier and possible for youngsters to take to the waves  – either sailing or motoring.

Nigel Vooght  is supported by his committee members:

Ben Turner (Vice Commodore), Jake Woodnutt (Rear Commodore), Ros Whittome (Honorary Secretary), Helen Ackrill (Honorary Treasurer), Rosa Chadney (Bar Manager), Peter Hamer (Assistant Secretary – Bar), Bruce Woodhead (Membership Secretary) Ronnie Cairnduff (Secretary – House), Ilona Soane-Sands (Communications & Publicity) and Richard Ward (Committee Member).

A new Assistant Secretary for Sailing Events is yet to be appointed.  ENDS